There From Here

Start Here…Get There

  • Follow Me on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Recent Comments

    WeAreAvant on Getting There: Tavaghn “…
    Avant on Guest Post: Part II Strengthen…
    Yasmin (Arrows With… on Getting There: Howard Jean Spe…
    Getting There: Tavag… on Getting There: Tavaghn “…
    Julie on Guest Post: Hey, Gen Y, Are Yo…
  • April 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • RSS My Blog

    • There From Here Has Moved!
      Until I can get a re-direct working, please note that I have moved to my own domain at http://www.officialtherefromhere.com/blogFiled under: RandomThoughtOftheDay
    • #GenYChat with Josip Petrusa
      On Wednesday June 9, 2010 #GenYChat will have a guest moderator: Josip Petrusa! To participate in the discussion, click this link. http://tweetchat.com/room/genychat We will be discussing the GenY Catch 22: Getting experience without having experience and dealing with the consequences. For transcripts from previous chats, please click hereFiled under: Random […]
    • RTOD: Domain Name Pain
      I‘ve been going back and forth with myself for a little while now regarding the purchase of a domain name. I started this blog a year ago to give myself the opportunity to finally get serious about what I wanted to do with my life. I feel that I’ve done a consistent job with this […]
    • Gen Y: How Do You Handle Promotions?
      The situation: You have experience at a certain level of authority within a company. You are being offered a promotion by a different company that is in the same industry but has different products. The question: If you’ve never worked with the products, how do you convince yourself, and, thus, the company offering the promotion, […]
    • Guest Post: Hey, Gen Y, Are You Afraid To Network?
      I’m a Gen Y job seeker. Unemployment data tells me I’m not the only one. A recent Pew study shows that 37% of 18-29 year olds are out of work! But the career and networking events I go to tell a different story. Networking, networking, networking. We’ve all heard endless times how it’s the best […]
    • Getting There: Howard Jean Speaks Part II
      Getting There is a series featuring interviews from Generation Y young people who are breaking stereotypes and not only working hard to achieve their own definition of success but working to improve the lives of others around them. Mr. Howard Jean, Director of the Call Me MISTER (CMM) Program, works to improve the lives of […]
    • Getting There: Howard Jean Speaks Part I
      Getting There is a series featuring interviews from Generation Y young people who are breaking stereotypes and not only working hard to achieve their own definition of success but working to improve the lives of others around them. Mr. Howard Jean, Director of the Call Me MISTER (CMM) Program, works to improve the lives of […]
    • Getting There: Tavaghn “Montsterr” Monts Speaks Part II
      Getting There is a series featuring interviews from Generation Y young people who are breaking stereotypes and not only working hard to achieve their own definition of success but working to improve the lives of others around them. Among other professions Tavaghn “Montster” Monts is Vice President of My Life Keys where he works as a Motivator […]
    • Getting There: Tavaghn “Montsterr” Monts Speaks Part I
      Getting There is a series featuring interviews from Generation Y young people who are breaking stereotypes and not only working hard to achieve their own definition of success but working to improve the lives of others around them. Among other professions Tavaghn “Montster” Monts is Vice President of My Life Keys where he works as […]
    • Talking About My Generation Y
      Generation Y gets talked about quite frequently. We’re lazy, unmotivated, listless, unproductive, blah blah blah. Frankly, I’m none of these things. I know many more GenY’ers who don’t fit this stereotype, either. Hiring managers, why are you consistently hiring the same type of GenY young person if business claim to despise having them in their […] […]
  • Previous Entries

Gen Y: Who Motivates You?

Posted by Chanelle Schneider on April 15, 2010

Growing up I put people older than me on a pedestal, assuming they held the knowledge I lacked because, as a child, I could not know what they knew. I’ve since learned my lesson. I know now that there are a lot of people in adult bodies with child-like minds. Sometimes their own children are smarter than they are, which makes me concerned for the future. It concerns me because some children are not strong enough to question their parents’ logic. They believe it when their parents tell them that they won’t amount to anything. They agree that the world does not need another scholar. They believe the teachers, relatives, televisions shows, movies and news media who tell them that they’re lazy, stupid, and too idealistic for their own good. Well, “adults”, who do you think is going to be there for you when you grow too old to take care of yourselves? When you motivate someone to become somebody, you benefit the world by creating a human being capable of love and compassion for someone other than themselves. Unfortunately, some have to be motivated by the negative talk of irresponsible adults who are too busy projecting their own jaded misgivings.

So, I ask you Generation Y, who motivates you? Does this song resonate with you?

The Blue Print 3 – So Ambitious lyrics

Motivation for me, is them telling me what I could not be
Oh well

I felt so inspired by what the teacher said
Said I’d either be dead or be a reefer head
Not sure if that’s how adults should speak to kids
Especially when the only thing I did was speak in class
I’ll teach his ass
Even better what my uncle did
I popped my demo tape in start to beat my head
Peeked out my eye, see if he was beatin his
He might as well said beat it kid,
He’s on the list
It’s like I’m searching for kicks
Like a sneaker head
You gon keep pushing me til I reach the ledge
And when I reach the ledge, I tell ’em all to eat a dick
Take a leap of faith and let my eagle wings spread

(Chorus)
Motivation to me, is them telling me what I could not be, oh well
I’m so ambitious, I might hit two sisters,
Hey I’m on a mission, no matter what the conditions
Fuck the personal issues, when you go through what I been through,
hey, if you believe it, then you can conceive it

Verse 2
Had to lace up my boots, even harder
Father is too far away to father
Further, more of the kids either
Smoke reefer or either move white
There’s few writers, in my cipher
So they made lighter, my type of
Dreams seen to them, they said wise up
How many guys are? You see making it from here
The world dont like us, is that not clear, alright bruh
I’m different I can’t face what I’m gon be, or
For what everybody isn’t, they don’t listen
Just whispering behind my back, no vision,
Lack of ambition, So Wack!

(Chorus) Pharrell
Motivation to me, is them telling me what I could not be, oh well
I’m so ambitious, I might hit two sisters,
Hey I’m on a mission, no matter what the conditions
Fuck the personal issues, when you go through what I been through,
hey, if you believe it, then you can conceive it

Verse 3
Had a couple of meetings, no office yet
Maybe I ain’t good enough for these offices
Back to the drawing board, ducking officers
It’s all good cuz the streets, is saying ?
So with or without any of your involvement
We coming for all of this, respect my conglomerate
I went from piper to the president, cuz every deal I ever made set precedent
N****s probably thought a 4 without 0 buddy, oh Buddy
What I do is make more money
Dear teacher, you probably somewhere speaker
I’m balling out of control, can you hear my sneakers?
Fuck yall!!

(Chorus) Pharrell
Motivation to me, is them telling me what I could not be, oh well
I’m so ambitious, I might hit two sisters,
Hey I’m on a mission, no matter what the conditions
Fuck the personal issues, when you go through what I been through,
hey, if you believe it, then you can conceive it

One Response to “Gen Y: Who Motivates You?”

  1. Tasha said

    I bought JayZ’s album when it first came out and this was one of the songs that resonated with me. What motivates me is the possibilty of failure. I strive to do the unthinkable…and I can probably thank my mom for that.

    I live by the notion that…when it’s all said and done my life will not involve any regrets, should’ves, could’ves….etc. So with that, I see no boundaries. I welcome challenges.

Leave a Reply

 
