There From Here

Start Here…Get There

In Memory of Michael Jackson

Posted by Chanelle Schneider on June 26, 2009

michael-jacksonDear Michael,

I swear this doesn’t feel real. I want this to be a joke; and, I want you to walk on stage again. Your life has meant so much to so many people. My philosopher’s mind says it is only your body that has passed. Your spirit is still alive. Still, I know that we will miss what your body and spirit combined produced.

I did not know you personally, which says so much about your life. I feel as though I have lost a family member. Your influence knows no bounds. Everyone who has been impacted by you thanks you for putting to use the gift that you were blessed with. Personally, I look at your life as a reminder to use the gifts with which we are blessed to receive. Our legacy demands we do so. Your legacy will live on in the music, and I hope we will all soon see why your passing had to come when it did. I know in my head that there is a reason for everything, and everyone must eventually leave this life; but, my heart just doesn’t want to let you go. You made everything you did look so easy. There will never be another sound like your’s. No one will ever move quite like you. You exemplified the level of passion and dedication required to be a true entertainer. I believe you did everything you did to bring a smile to the faces of your onlookers, and you succeeded.

Thank you for having the courage to live your life. I will never forget you.

3 Responses to “In Memory of Michael Jackson”

  1. Jen Ru. said

    How beautiful! Thank you for sharing this.

  2. louisiana said

    I can remember being about 5 when my mom bought me the billie jean 45. I played it over and over and danced and danced. I was in awe of him when I saw him on tv-true entertainer and always very classy. I was 6 when, on my birthday, I was upgraded to a cassette player and my first cassette was the thriller album! I knew every word (and sound) and beat to every song.

    Michael had the ingenuity to create the empire that he did, and the moral courage to BE Michael Jackson, when it wasn’t “cool” anymore to be him. I can’t think of any other musical artist who strived to improve the lives of children everywhere. Michael promoted peace and humility with his work and it was genuine, as evidenced by his gentle and caring nature. The world lost an icon, a diplomat, and an ambassador for humanity and Michael will be sorely missed by all of the generations he touched. He never did manage to teach me the moonwalk- however, as a young child, the lessons Michael taught me about love for my fellow man as well as other animals on earth has shaped a part of who I am today. I never did see him in concert and never realized how much I regret that until he was taken away so suddenly.
    I pray that the Lord can comfort the hearts of his family in knowing that Michael is in His playground in peace….forever young and childlike. A kind and gentle soul to be remembered forever, until we meet again.

Leave a comment