There From Here

Start Here…Get There

Talking About My Generation Y

Posted by Chanelle Schneider on April 16, 2010

Generation Y gets talked about quite frequently. We’re lazy, unmotivated, listless, unproductive, blah blah blah. Frankly, I’m none of these things. I know many more GenY’ers who don’t fit this stereotype, either. Hiring managers, why are you consistently hiring the same type of GenY young person if business claim to despise having them in their offices? Business people, are there no outliers anywhere in any of your offices? I find that hard to believe.

Generation X had a song by The Who that rallied them together against the negative stereotypes being put on them. Generation Y needs a similar rallying cry. Anyone want to create it? Anyone? Bueller??

3 Responses to “Talking About My Generation Y”

  1. Preach it! Too often Gen Y gets boxed into these unfair categories. But I actually think that GenY has become motivated by different things than the Baby Boomers did, and have found our muse in our own way! I am all for a Generational Song!

  2. lowespenjr said

    I love that song, by The Who! “Why don’t ya all fffffade away?! And don’t try to dig what we all say!” I think I may be an X in a Y body. Lol. Anyway, I think today’s music is too “everywhere” to have any definitive anthem. The 50s, 60s had a “sound,” ya know. Four to Six major genres, tops. Todays music is too fragmented, even within genres. Rap, Conscious Rap, Southern Rap, Hip-Hop, R&B, Soul, Neo-Soul, House, Dance, Pop, Electro-Pop, Rock, Acid Rock, Metal, Death Metal, Emo… And I know I’ve missed some. Not that a varied sound is a bad thing (heck I listen to probably half of these!). Its just going to be hard to represent the masses with any one song, anymore. Great idea, though. There’s nothing like a theme song to rally the troops!

Leave a comment